The one about My Craziest Travel Itinerary Ever

I don’t even know how it got this crazy. I just kept adding and adding destinations until finally I had to tell myself the truth: I couldn’t do it all. There just weren’t enough vacation days; or money, for that matter. I suppose there are people out there who have had crazier itineraries but this was my first time doing a sort of faux ‘backpacking through Europe’ trip so it was crazy for me. 

I was just so excited by the proximity of all these countries to each other and the myriad of possibilities that brought to the table. And then that awesome thing called the schengen visa– which meant I didn’t have to apply for and pay for several visas in order to visit several countries in Europe. Now you see why the temptation to keep adding and adding destinations was so tempting?

I did a lot of research. I looked up train and plane schedules, of course looking for deals. I looked up which countries were easier to get to from each other. I looked into the best way to plan the order of countries visited. The research process was very time consuming. But, I had only 10 days to make it happen- including travel days- so I had to maximize the time and squeeze it all in. Here’s what I did:

  • Friday afternoon- Leave the US
  • Saturday morning (local time)- Arrive Paris
    • No sleep/nap to help alleviate jetlag
  • Saturday afternoon/evening- Roam around streets of Paris. Visit as many famous sites as possible.
  • Saturday night- Sleep/nap/fight jetlag
  • Sunday morning- Church service (in French with English translation)
  • Sunday afternoon- Train to Den Haag aka The Hague, Netherlands (3 hours)
  • Arrive Den Haag Sunday night
  • Monday morning- Train to Amsterdam (1 hour)
    • Tour Amsterdam all day. See some famous sites, including a diamond museum where they reportedly give free samples
  • Monday evening- Return to Den Haag, Netherlands (1 hour)
  • Tuesday morning- Train to Brussels, Belgium (3 hours)
    • Tour all day
  • Tuesday evening-Return to Den Haag, Netherlands (3 hours)
  • Wednesday- Tour Den Haag, Netherlands
  • Wednesday evening- Plane to Rome, Italy (2.25 hours)
  • Wednesday night- Arrive Rome Italy, find hotel, sleep
  • Thursday morning- Bus to Rome city center
    • Tour Rome (and Vatican City) all day. See some photos I took here. Not professional by any means, but enjoy anyway. Haha. Photo up top was also taken in Rome, just before I headed back to my hotel. The view just seemed so magical to me and I wanted to capture it and remember it for a long time. I will have to do a post on my day in Rome (and Vatican City) at some point.
  • Thursday night- Return to hotel. Sleep.
  • Friday morning- Train to Turin, Italy (4.5 hours)
  • Friday Afternoon- Find hotel/tour Turin
  • Friday night- Sleep. Almost tempted to go to a bar though 😉
  • Saturday morning- Train to Paris (6 hours)
    • Find Hotel. Tour Paris some more. Visit places I didn’t get to the first time. Almost got arrested. Post about that later.
  • Saturday night- Sleep
  • Sunday morning- Get on a plane back to the US
  • Sunday night- Arrive home
  • Monday morning- Back to reality! (aka work and stuff)

Hours indicate actual travel time and not time for train changes or time it takes to get to train station or airport or time waiting. I didn’t even include time spent in the more local modes of transportation- for example, from Den Haag train station to accommodation via tram was about 20 minutes, at least.

I really wanted to do Germany, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Maybe even Austria. However, I had to be real with myself and tell myself I’d be back. Maybe even revisit some of the places I already went just because I didn’t have enough time to see and experience things properly.

So tell me, what’s the craziest itinerary you’ve ever had? Do you prefer whirlwind itineraries- visit as many places as you can in one trip? Or more chill ones e.g. spend the whole of the time in one city or just one country or at most 2 cities? Leave a comment below to let me know 🙂

14 comments

  1. adenikethomas@yahoo.co.uk · November 5, 2015

    Hmmnn,you never mentioned free diamond samples!!! Gotcha ! When you were talking about touring Europe,I didn’t even know the half of it…..just as well ti mi ofi itiju karun !

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • omobtomtom · November 5, 2015

      LOl!!! The story about the free diamond samples is kind of long- another post about that coming soon 🙂

      But yes, it was a lot of going up and down and not so much resting. If you had joined, itinerary would have been modified. So next time when I invite you, don’t be worried.

      Xoxo

      Like

  2. jackieo · November 14, 2015

    my traveler 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kola · November 16, 2015

    omdays you weren’t kidding when you said the itinerary was crazy 😂😂 to answer your question, I’d say i’m somewhere in the middle – i LOVE Europe for the exact reason you stated – it’s super easy to get from one place to the next but at the same time, I really like to take in the city and feel like once i’ve seen it once, I won’t feel bad if i can’t come back. So i tend to squeeze in as many locations as possible but I’d happily skip a location so i can spend more time to eat all the food and soak in everything at each stop.

    PS: I definitely want to do Switzerland and Portugal as well and Taiwan and Hong Kong and Singapore and Kenya and Tanzania and Zambia LOL! just be praying for my bank account 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • omobtomtom · November 16, 2015

      Just take me with you when you are going! May God answer our bank account prayers 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: The one about The Flight Attendant That Made Me Cry | oh the places she'll go
  5. Pingback: The one about Those Who Rome Alone | oh the places she'll go
  6. Pingback: The one about Checking Off My Rome Bucket List | oh the places she'll go
  7. Pingback: The one about My Run-In With The Parisian Po-Po | oh the places she'll go
  8. Pingback: The one about The Leibster Award | oh the places she'll go
  9. fromdreamtoplan · August 13, 2016

    Wow!Definitely they been busy days but I’m sure it was worth it! I really like the itinerary you’ve chosen! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Lisa | http://www.fromdreamtoplan.net/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: The one about Free Diamond Samples In Amsterdam | oh the places she'll go

Leave a Reply

