The one about Angels Among Us

Do you believe in angels? Like, do you believe angels take on human form and roam the earth to interact with humans, for whatever reason? Or maybe guardian angels; do you believe in those?

Whatever you believe, I met an angel the other day. It was while I was on a hike in Chipinque during my trip to Mexico. I hiked for about two hours total. I’m not a very experienced hiker, but I had been promised the most magnificent views of the city of  Monterrey were awaiting me there. Therefore, I had no choice but to do it. It was going to be a solo hike and I was okay with that.

I had never been there, didn’t know where I was going, and I had no map of the park. All I knew was it was very high elevation, had great views, and I was told I HAD to visit Chipinque! No one else was walking- just people driving up in cars and people on their bikes, some of whom I greeted Buenas Tardes. I was getting pretty tired, my water was running out, it was getting dark, and I had no clue how much longer it would take to get to ‘the top’ talk less of getting back to the entrance of the park and back home.

So I did the ‘smart’ thing. I decided to give up my quest of getting to the top and started heading back down. I was a little disappointed, but figured it would be best to get back before dark.  I consoled myself with the thought that I’d seen pretty sights so far on the hike. Then I looked up and saw a lady walking up; I said “hi”. I expected her to, at most, say hi back and keep walking. I got more than that. She didn’t just say hi back, she kept on talking. So I told her how all about how I was about to give up on getting to the top and she said “No, come with me, it’s not so far, we’ll go together”. And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how I met this sweet lady called Marilu!

I don’t usually talk to strangers, or should I say, talk so much to strangers. But she was different. Motherly. My gut told me I could trust her, she was good peeps. We talked about a wide variety of things in the short time we were together. From the Pope, his recent visit to the US, to the US president, to why I was in Mexico, to places we had both traveled to, to where we were both from, where we were born, what we did for a living, our hobbies, running, walking, exercise, yoga, air pollution, eating healthy, toxins, earthquakes, Mexico City, medical school, doctors, dentists, family businesses, cancer, death, family, friends, daughters, houses on hills, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, cruises, running shoes, weak knees, half marathons, Texas, the United States of America, prayer, the hotel on the way to the very top of Chipinque, the restaurant up there with a great view of the stars, God, faith, and many other things.

We did not get to the very top of Chipinque but together, we went farther than I would have dared to go alone that day. I joined her in a few relaxing yoga poses (as much I could accomplish in my jeans). Then she offered to take a picture of me with the peak in the background. She wanted a picture on her phone too, but her phone memory was full.

IMG_0116

When we got back to the bottom of the hill, she offered to give me a ride home. In the car we talked some more and I really enjoyed talking with her. I asked for her email address so I could keep in touch and thank her. I was scared I got the email address spelling wrong and/ or she wouldn’t reply. Or that I imagined the whole encounter and I really didn’t meet anyone on that lonely road. But she replied 🙂

Marilu

These things don’t happen (to me) often or even hardly at all. I was honored to meet and spend some quality time with such a beautiful, energetic lady- full of life, grace, adventure, and love. It was so amazing how we connected and talked about so many things.

God sent her to me. He didn’t want me to go back home without seeing that peak. He knew I only needed to walk a few more minutes and sent Marilu to help me get there. She wasn’t supposed to be hiking at that time, but somehow she was.

And we met.

And it was beautiful.

If you are reading this, Marilu, Muchas Gracias!

 

Have you had any ‘angel’ type encounters? Let me know about it below 🙂

 

Header photo: One of the mountains in Monterrey

5 comments

  1. Pingback: The one about How An Uber Driver Saved Me From Dehydration | oh the places she'll go
  2. Tifness · November 28, 2015

    lovely post! 🙂 i’m a fitness blogger on here too! xx http://www.latifaxlola.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kola · December 1, 2015

    awww such a cool story. As soon as I got to the part where you said you said Hi. in my head, i was like DONT TALK TO STRANGERS Lmaooo but she was obviously a God send and I’m glad you got to see the peak 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • omobtomtom · December 1, 2015

      haha, your mum taught you well. I had a good feeling about this one 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

