The one about How God Showed Up Today

So I literally just got home and went straight for my laptop. I couldn’t wait to share my good news. Things like this excite me and I want to share with my readers.

I had just finished watching Dancing with the Stars- Columbus Style, which was great! My friends Courtney and Nicole did an amazing job shaking to the salsa beats. Then I had planned to go to the store to return some mittens. So here’s the back story. Last January, after coming back from blazing hot Nigeria for the Christmas holidays, this girl could not handle the harsh Indiana winter she came back to. For real, it was in the single digits, if not negative digits (Fahrenheit) for several days straight.

I finally bit the bullet and decided to go to one of those really expensive winter gear stores to get me a befitting winter coat. While I was at it, I decided to get a very weird fun color- plum! I even got mittens to match. The rest of the winter was much more bearable thanks to these additions to my closet.

Fast forward to this winter- one day, I noticed one of the mittens had burst at the seam. I made a note to either fix it or go to the store to return it. But then I didn’t (who fixes mittens??). By the end of the week, the tear had gotten much worse with the stuffing coming out. So I decided I was going to return it. I didn’t have the receipt and it had been over a year but I figured I could only try. I went in the store with my game face on, my speech memorized. Before I could even finish my sentence, the lady was like “oh, you can go and pick out another one”. I couldn’t believe it- it was so easy!

Unfortunately though, they didn’t have the plum color anymore. So I went with the boring sensible, adult color- black. The lady could sense my disappointment and offered to even change my coat to match the mittens. I almost changed my coat but I decided to keep it. I LOVE my plum colored coat. That’s its best feature, after the warmth it provides! It’s a unique color and I like it that way. So yes, I will be that girl with the plum coat and black mittens- there’s worse things in this life I suppose :).

I leave that store, get some good deals at another store (I am a sucker for SALEs because I am cheap frugal) and then start to head home. My low tire signal pressure had been on for a while but I had been procrastinating. Usually I am good with eyeballing the tire before I drive off just to make sure it wasn’t totally flat. Sometimes I don’t check though. Before leaving the mall, I checked and it looked a bit weird. I decided I’d better put some air in today. Then something told me to NOT delay but get it done before I got back on the interstate.

I went to gas station one and the air machine wouldn’t take my card. So I decided to head home anyway. Then I noticed another gas station across the street and decided to try that one. However, someone was using the air machine so I was like nah- I’ll just go home. I went out of the car and looked at my tire and it was pretty much airless. I was definitely waiting. Then the nicest thing happened- the gentleman, when he was done filling his tires, came over to mine and filled it. The nicest gesture ever on a freezing Indiana Saturday afternoon. I didn’t ask him to, he never asked for anything in return, just plain niceness!

So that’s it folks- I no longer have the annoying low tire pressure signal in my car (for now anyway), and my mittens will not continue to embarrass me and threaten to spill their stuffing all over the roads and sidewalks. God is good!

I’m just really grateful for divine favor today and everyday. I don’t believe it was all coincidence. My daddy upstairs was definitely looking out for me- as always.

Have a great weekend peeps!

xoxo

 

Header Photo: Lake Minnehaha, MN. Summer 2013. Photo By: O Thomas

6 comments

  1. Omorin · January 16, 2016

    Awesome testimonies! Definitely encouraged me.Thanks for sharing:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • omobtomtom · January 16, 2016

      You’re welcome 🙂 I am glad it encouraged you.

      Like

  2. ayorindethomas · January 17, 2016

    Trust in the LORD, always👍

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Deyo · January 17, 2016

    God is good….always. I am very happy for you renie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

