The one about Being A Local Celebrity

I was in the Columbus newspaper the other day. No big deal, right? Um, what?? When I saw it in flesh and blood, I was like “Mama, I made it!” lol.

During training for my third half marathon, our coach started this new thing where we would have group training during the week in addition to the Saturday group long runs. I attended a few times. One of those days, I got there and noticed a man who did not come dressed to run. I eventually gathered that he was a journalist/reporter/writer/columnist for The Republic, the local Columbus, IN newspaper.

He had just got done interviewing one of the runners and he asked if anyone else wanted to be interviewed. I thought it would be cool and was about to shout “pick me, pick me” but no one seemed to want to do it. So I wondered if there was a catch.

One of the ladies must have sensed my misgivings so she told me how there wasn’t much to it and it would be very quick. I wouldn’t miss much of training (we had already started warm ups). So I said yes- hey, why not?

The interview was indeed quick. I was most worried about if he would get the spelling of my name correctly. Haha.

I completed training that day and that was the end of it. Or so I thought.

Then one Sunday morning, I went to church like I normally would on the days I was scheduled to be a greeter. One of the guys at church, who I had told maybe once ever that I was training for the half marathon, asked me if I saw myself in the paper. I said no. I don’t even buy or read the paper. He said he could be mistaken, but he thinks he saw me. I brushed it off.

Another guy came up to me smiling and started doing the hand motions of someone running. He also said he saw me in the paper. I started to believe it.

Then at work the next day, another guy told me he saw me. Is it only guys that read The Republic?? I asked if he could get me the paper. He said he’d try to find it.

Later that week, I ran into Mr. M, one of my running heroes, and told him the good news. He was excited for me. I asked if he read the papers and if he happened to have kept the one from Sunday. He said he’d look. He did and he actually found it and sent me a picture of it! The next day, he brought me the whole paper.

closeup

It felt great to be in the paper for running, my newest hobby. It gave me more encouragement. I ran a bit faster on my next long run :).

But then, the next Sunday “Omobola Thomas” was in The Republic again. This time, she was Caucasian dental hygienist who also wore Brooks running shoes! Oh well…

I’ve actually been in the papers before. Once, when I was volunteering at a school during my Tennessee days. The article had a picture of me mixing concrete :).

I’ve been in a magazine too. They did a special feature on me as I was one of the recipients of an academic award (Phi Kappa Phi Love of Learning Award).

When I was younger, I was also in the papers- usually for school related things so this time it was extra exciting- especially as I am not even a competitive runner with impressive (in the grand scheme of things) pace.

Have you ever been in the papers? Share what it was for in the comment section below!

 

2 comments

  1. Dorcas Gamba · January 21, 2016

    Hey Omobola, so good to read your story. And to answer your question, yes I have been in the papers once before, although not an American one, but a Chinese Newspaper. Haha! A Chinese friend of mine, who I had been working with that summer, had written a story on our experiences as Orientation Leaders at IPFW (Indiana-Purdue Unoiversity Fort Wayne). And it was featured with a picture of us dressed in our Orientation uniforms. Haha it was quite an exciting experience I must say!

    Liked by 1 person

    • omobtomtom · January 21, 2016

      Awesome! is it online? I would love to read the story 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

