The one about Seeing Maroon Five Live!

Maroon 5 was in Indianapolis for a concert last winter and Carolina and I went to see them. It was an amazing experience. Extreme groupie behavior like you’ve never seen. Just kidding! Or am I? 😉

Sunday morning, rain is falling
Steal some covers, share some skin
Clouds are shrouding us in moments unforgettable
You twist to fit the mold that I am in
But things just get so crazy, living life gets hard to do
And I would gladly hit the road, get up and go if I knew
That someday it would lead me back to you
That someday it would lead me back to you

This song is really old (ok maybe not that old.lol)  but I remember it from way back. Before I even knew who Maroon 5 was (were?).

Usually, when they advertise on the radio that a musician or band is coming to Indianapolis (Indy), it never even fazes me [side note- I had to do some googling to figure out which spelling was correct- ‘phases’ or ‘fazes’. I am not sure I have ever used that word in text before!]. I don’t think twice about it. Talk less of buying a ticket. I don’t know why it was different this time.

I bought 2 tickets in September for a show at the end of February the next year. I didn’t even have anyone to go with- I just bought them confident in the fact that someone in my circle of friends would also think it was a great idea to go. They cost me a pretty penny too!

After buying the tickets, I asked around if people wanted to go with me. Some people were even like “Maroon Who?” – they had never heard of them. Then I thought for sure, this one friend would be interested- she had been to Beyonce’s concert and she was like “Why are you buying the tickets now for a show in February?”. And then I asked myself the same question. lol. But the deed had been done.

Good news is, I found someone to come with me. Carolina to the rescue. Turns out she didn’t come with me out of pity- she actually liked Adam Levine Maroon 5!!

When I told Nnenna I was going to the Maroon Five concert, she immediately asked me if they were going to perform Sugar. At the time, I didn’t think I had ever heard of Sugar but apparently, it was the current rave.

maroon

Caro and I 🙂 you can see some snow on the ground already- it got much worse.

maroon1

We had to get closer to the sign 🙂

The day (and night) of the concert, it was bitterly cold. And it snowed! But I still braved the roads and drove the ~1 hour there. The Bankers Life Fieldhouse was super packed. We made our way to our seats which were so high up, I literally thought I was going to fall a few times during that treacherous journey.

MAGIC! was one of the opening acts and they performed Rude, of course. I like that song so I sang screeched along quite happily.

maroon2

Right before MAGIC! came on.

Then Maroon 5 came on! The crowd went crazy. It was indescribably amazing. I loved that I knew the words to almost every song they performed (at least the chorus of the songs). I lost my voice that night from all my tuneless singing screeching. And yes, they did perform Sugar. And I realized I had heard it before. lol.

Every 5 minutes or so, I would scream at the top of my lungs “I love you Adam!!”. Haha. It was hilarious. I have no clue why I was doing that. There wasn’t even alcohol involved!

I’m not a frequent concert attender- those things are crazy expensive, but the Maroon 5 one was definitely $$ well spent. I’d recommend it. The light effects on their own were spectacular enough. There were people of all ages there- from teenagers to people in their 60s and probably 70s- standing up and jamming together. People from different cultures and countries, united by our love of awesome Maroon 5 music. It was an amazing experience and I am glad I got to share it with Carolina 🙂

maroon3

Can you see Adam??

Have you ever been to a [major] concert? Share your experience below 🙂

 

p.s. links to some of the short videos I took during the main performance are below. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

