The one about Planning A Surprise: Nigeria Vlog

At the end of July, I went to Nigeria- as some of you would have gathered from my instagram and Facebook posts :). It was a complete surprise for all my family. Well, all except my brother, my co-conspirator, and partial idea planter actually. I say partial, because I had thought of it earlier and talked myself out of it, then he brought up the idea to me and convinced me we could make it work. Yes, we are the dream team!

When your parents share the same birthday (4 years apart) and one of them is turning a milestone age, you pull out all the stops. No matter where in the world you are, no matter how many vacation days you have [left], no matter the side eye your bank account is giving you … you make it work. Especially, if you are going to be the only one of 5 children not present.

Now add the element of surprise to it and everyone’s in for a nice treat, especially the celebrants :).

For someone who isn’t really a ‘surprise’ person, this was a big deal. I remember the surprise birthday party that was thrown for me on my 20th birthday. When I walked into the room and saw so many people, I was so overwhelmed that I ran to the bathroom to cry. Yea, I know. I have no idea why I reacted that way. Blame it on over stimulation for the classic introvert. But the other direction can be fun …

It was incredibly hard to keep it a secret though. Especially when you have a sister like Omorin. So many times I wanted to just confess, especially when she would facetime me casually and out of the blue express her bewilderment as to why I couldn’t come to Nigeria. It made no sense. My excuses didn’t even make sense to me either, but I had to stick to the script. The words of encouragement to not spill the beans from my brother helped, as well as the well-timed deflections and digression tactics he employed in our family group chat.

Anyway, I made it to Nigeria with my secret safe and it was a wonderfully executed surprise and a great time was had by all.

See the highlights of my trip here, including my family’s reaction when they saw me.

surprise!!.png

If you have any questions about Lagos or Nigeria or anything in the video, feel free to ask in the comments section.

Have you ever planned a big surprise or been the recipient of a well planned surprise? How did it go?

7 comments

  1. Brittany · August 24, 2016

    What a great surprise! How fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tosin · September 6, 2016

    Lovely! Good execution Reni-Reni!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. vinneve · September 8, 2016

    It is nice and very thoughtful of a person to organize such a surprise for a special person. I too would feel overwhelm and grateful. Surprises comes in 2 forms… good or bad and of course I much prefer the good ones haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The one about 2016: My Year In Travels | oh the places she'll go

Leave a Reply

