The one about The Ice Tub Challenge

You remember the time the ice bucket challenge was the rave right? Yep! I didn’t do it. I don’t do ice- but the way I’ve been feeling lately is definitely making me reconsider.

I’m the ‘no ice’ girl. When I go to restaurants and I am asked what I would like to drink, the answer is standard “Water, no ice”. Sometimes, I add “no lemon” too but that’s not as critical- the lemon can easily be taken off. It is so typical of me not to have ice that even when my friends have had to order for me, they remember to tell the waiter no ice. And even when the waiter forgets and still brings ice, I ask for another glass of water. Yes, the struggle is real.

I’m always the one who feels cold when everyone is comfortable. I’m the girl with the permanent goosebumps. True story. So no, no ice bucket challenge for me.

When I first started running, they talked about the wonders of ice and how it could help with reducing inflammation. I was like, nah- I’ll be good. I will be just fine with my Advil liquid gels- popping them like skittles if I need to. When the pain got more real, I graduated to a mixture of Advil and ice pack treatments. However, it would take several minutes of self pep talk before applying the ice pack.

The ultimate was doing an ice bath. Literally sitting in a tub full of ice and cold water. I knew I would never ever do it. I just knew.

So when Carolina told me she did it and in fact, she does it quite regularly after long runs, I was shocked! She said it wasn’t so bad- just the initial cold. I still wasn’t buying it. She said it worked wonders for recovery. I still didn’t care- nothing was worth being that cold.

However, with the way I was feeling some time ago (and even more recently from yesterday’s hike), I seriously contemplated heading to the grocery store to get a bag of ice and just get it over with. It was mainly my hips, glutes, and outer thighs. In the end, I decided to wait it out a few days – and try resting and foam rolling, which can also be an excruciatingly painful endeavor. But to me, it’s the lesser of two evils.

Fellow runners, have you done the ice bathtub treatment? Does it really work like magic? Or it’s all hype?

3 comments

  1. Brittany · September 8

    HA! I took an ice bath ONCE, but it was more to see what it was like. I don’t run marathons, so I’m not sure if it works, but I know some people swear by it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • omobtomtom · September 8

      Omg!! you did it for fun? you are a brave soul! lol. Would you do it again?

      Like

      • Brittany · September 8

        Well it was after a run, but nothing crazy haha. I don’t see the need to do it again. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

