The one about The Newest Addition To The Family

I waited excitedly for Tuesday October 4th, 2016. It was the day I finally got to find out the name of my newest nephew! It is so exciting when a baby is born into your family. So so exciting! I mean, you’ve been waiting for months, and then as the days get closer, you’re waiting and checking in frequently to know if baby is here or if mama is in labor yet. Every message alert or phone call has you thinking it’s the news.

My youngest nephew was born on September 27, 2016 and I remember exactly where I was when I got the news. I got the whatsapp message while I was at work and I was so excited! I couldn’t stop smiling the rest of the day. I excitedly told my co-workers and showed them the few pictures I had been sent.

He’s so cute, they gushed. So chubby, So muscular. Those are compliments, by the way, just in case you need things to say when someone shows you a baby picture. Those were some of their reactions to the header photo of this post.

Babies are so cute, their cheeks …you just want to tug at them all day, and snuggle, and hug, and kiss. Babies are even cuter if they are members of your family. They are beautiful, and flawless in your eyes. And their cute baby outfits! ❤

When his older sister was born (December 11, 2013), I got the call while I was at church helping pack Christmas packages for charity. I was distractedly wrapping presents and curling ribbons and my phone rang- she was here!

The previous niece, my eldest sister’s daughter, was born September 17, 2013. I was at Purdue recruiting at the Engineering Career Fair when I got the phone call that Isabel had arrived. That was a great day :).

Then the one who first made me an aunt, my nephew Emmanuel, was born on September 25, 2007. It was a Tuesday and I was in the basement of Kettler Hall at IPFW. I was a freshman in college and had just gotten off work at the Math Test Center. I checked my phone and saw the message there- Emmanuel was here!

In my culture, the Yoruba culture, babies are named on the 8th day and this is why I had been excitedly waiting to know what my new nephew would be called. Especially as his elder sister’s name was epic[ly long]. Nigerians, particularly Yoruba people, can sometimes have really long and creative names. His elder sister is Oluwajomiloju Aanuoluwaseyifunmi Thomas [First- Middle- Last name]. The first and middle names mean ‘God exceeded my expectations’ and ‘The mercy of God did this for me’. She’s called Jomiloju for short, or JMJ.

 

So naturally, the expectation was that my new nephew’s name would be at least equally epic[ly long]. And so I present to you: Oluwanifesimi Oreofeoluwa Thomas!

baby4

Swag on deck with the side part 🙂

The first and middle names mean ‘God has love towards me’ and ‘The Grace of God’ respectively. He will be called Nifesimi for short.

Congratulations to the proud parents, and to the rest of the family. May we always have cause to celebrate over him.

Now, when do I get to hold him???

baby3

LOVE!

 

10 comments

  1. Omorin · October 6

    Cutie-and that’s an unbiased opinion right there!!😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tife · October 6

    Aww. He is super cute

    Liked by 1 person

  3. weekendcampervanning · October 6

    Congratulations auntie! What a cutie he is!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kola Olaosebikan · October 9

    AWWWWWWWWWWWWW i literally did a little dance and jiggle when i saw that side part. so daggone cute!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Abiodun · November 6

    Awwwwwww

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

