The one about the Blog-Versary

I can hardly believe it! It’s been a year since I clicked ‘publish’ on the very first post on Oh the Places She’ll Go. My blog is a whole year old!! After months of thinking obsessing about starting it, wondering if I could really do it, if it was a silly idea, if I had what it took to be a blogger, second, even third guessing myself, I finally bit the bullet and started the blog.

A huge THANKS to those who have supported and encouraged me from way before day 1! Those that kept saying: you really should start a blog, share all your fun stories from your travels, share your travel tips, your lovely pictures, your experiences, the lessons you’ve learned …

I’m so grateful for you pushing me and filling my mind with those positive thoughts and encouraging words. If not for them, I may not have started the blog.

And to those who have supported the ‘ministry’ since it actually started- both friends and strangers. THANK YOU!! Thank you for reading, for ‘liking’, for commenting, for sharing, for tagging.

To my amazing proof readers and honorary editors, THANKS A LOT! You have saved me from countless embarrassments on the world stage.

To my fellow bloggers and followers on the wordpress platform, thanks for the support and encouragement and let’s keep blogging- no matter how difficult it may get.

onebirthday

From one of my niece’s birthdays, but still befitting of the occasion 🙂

I have learned so much in the past year through this blog: about myself, about blogging, about things I want to do with my life and my future … I have ‘met’ several kindred spirits that inspire me and open my eyes to new things that I might otherwise never have seen …

I’ve become a better writer, a better thinker, I even took the bold step of purchasing video editing software, shooting and editing videos, and published my first vlog! That was so much fun and a great learning experience. So much so that I made multiple vlogs 🙂

I have been able to share not only my fun travels, but my running journey with you all- as well as some random things that just come to mind like having a large appendix or having a run in with the police in Paris!

I also remember being so scared to publish this post. Truly scared. But I did; I decided I could not keep silent and I had to do something, no matter how small, no matter the [perceived upcoming] backlash. And I was so blessed by the response to the post, I was glad I had a platform like this blog to share those thoughts.That post was shared so many times and it reached so many people so I like to think that at least one person had a change of heart because of it.

One of the many exciting points of this last year was Oh the Places She’ll Go being nominated for the Leibster Award. That was such an honor and it was also fun to read fellow bloggers’ nominations too.

Another was when a travel company for Nigerian millennials, Tripzapp, contacted me to write an article for them on my trip to the Grand Canyon. It was amazing to know that my stories were actually being read by professional travel companies, even internationally!

Speaking of international- I can’t tell you how exciting it is for me to look through my blog stats and see that people from so many countries, some I’ve never even heard of, have visited my blog. That’s one of the things that keep me going. THANK YOU all again- from the bottom of my heart.

I have kept a tally of all the places I have been, places I still want to go, places I have run outside, even my movie list! Because lists are awesome, obvs.

I have so much more plans for the blog and I can’t wait to see it grow in content and in reach, to bring smiles to faces, tears to cheeks- the good kind of tears, to cause positive change in communities around the world, and to inspire people to travel.

And to dream.

Never stop dreaming 🙂

Abrazos!

 

4 comments

  1. Omorin · October 25

    Awwww, one year old already!! 🍾How quickly time goes by when you’re having fun😊
    Thanks for sharing yourself with us, my life is definitely richer for reading your blog!
    Here’s to many more years of blogging and vlogging🍹

    Liked by 1 person

    • omobtomtom · October 25

      Yay, thank you so much for those kind words and all your support during this past year and even way way before that. xoxo

      Like

  2. weekendcampervanning · October 29

    Congratulations! What a milestone!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

